Iowans to be Recognized at Commodity Classic for 2022 National Corn Yield Contest

The National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) recognized Iowa Corn Growers Association members as winners of the 2022 National Corn Yield Contest (NCYC). The top four winners in each category will be recognized during the 2023 Commodity Classic in Orlando, Florida on March 8-11.

These selected farmers will be honored for their ability to produce the most corn per-acre, which lends itself to fueling and feeding the world. NCYC grants recognition to the participants for their earned accomplishment and  also gives them the opportunity to learn from their peers.

Top yield winners from Iowa include:

Conventional Non-Irrigated:

  1. Leslie Lindner, Keokuk, 313.65 bu/acre
  2. Ralph Trumm, Cascade, 307.70 bu/acre
  3. Jim Gregory, Tabor, 305.86 bu/acre

No-Till Non-Irrigated:

  1. Taber Anderson, Marne, 310.08 bu/acre
  2. Kirk Hartman, Cumberland, 299.24 bu/acre
  3. Galt Porter, Mercer, 295.10 bu/acre

Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Non-Irrigated:

  1. Grey Porter, Mercer, 321.99 bu/acre
  2. Shane Vogeler, Clutier, 308.31 bu/acre
  3. Terry Carlson, Blanchard, 301.67 bu/acre

No-Till Irrigated:

  1. Todd Folkerts, Inwood, 275.99 bu/acre
  2. Roy Folkerts, Inwood, 273.60 bu/acre
  3. Dave Klocke, Templeton, 263.20 bu/acre

Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Irrigated:

  1. Colby Winter, Lake City, 307.93 bu/acre
  2. Matthew Schleisman, Gurnee, 305.87 bu/acre
  3. Landon Schleisman, Lytton, 294.11 bu/acre

Conventional Irrigated:

  1. Larry Schleisman, Lake City, 298.83 bu/acre
  2. Brandy Winter, Lake City, 287.98 bu/acre
  3. Melissa Schleisman, Lake City, 277.17 bu/acre

Contest winners received national recognition in the publication National Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips and other awards from participating sponsor seed, chemical and crop protection companies. The National Corn Yield Contest, now in its 58th year, remains one of NCGA’s most popular programs for members.

For a complete list of national and state winners, visit

For More Information:

Rachel Zumbach, Public Relations Manager,, 515-225-9242

Related Articles

News & UpdatesNews
Iowa Corn Growers Association Shows Strength in Numbers at Day on the Hill Event
March 28, 2024
Iowa Corn Growers Association Shows Strength in Numbers at Day on the Hill Event

Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) members filled the State Capitol rotunda yesterday for the “Iowa Corn Day on the Hill” lobbying event to share what matters most to them and their family farms. The delegation included ICGA board members, county leaders, grassroots members and FFA students from across the state. While in attendance, corn farmers...

News & UpdatesNews
Default news thumbnail
March 2, 2024
Iowa Corn Farmers Attend Commodity Classic in Houston

Iowa Corn farmer-leaders participated in the 2024 Commodity Classic in Houston, Texas. The delegation from Iowa consisted of Iowa Corn directors, Iowa Corn farmer voting delegates and alternates, Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team members, and grassroots leaders. A key task for the Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) at Commodity Classic is advocating in support of policies and...