Iowa Corn Growers Association
Kurt & Heather Hora Family – Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award Winners page banner

Kurt & Heather Hora Family – Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award Winners

Posted on September 23, 2013 at 9:17 AM by Iowa Corn

Kurt and Heather Hora and their three children, operate a wean-to-finish hog operation and raise corn and soybeans. They are great farmers who care for their land and their animals. In addition, they are active on the local, state and national level to help support Iowa’s agriculture industry.

Kurt and Heather Hora own and operate their family farm in Washington, Iowa. They strive to produce a better crop every year in terms of yields,  but also in terms of reducing the amount of fertilizer and other inputs for every bushel they produce. That is why I nominated them for the Gary Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award which they will received Friday, September 20th from Iowa Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig during the “Big Show,” which airs on both WHO and WMT radio.

Locally, Kurt and Heather are involved with 4-H and county extension as well as the Washington County Pork Producers.  Kurt has been very active with in the Iowa Corn Growers Association and currently serves on the board of directors. Heather serves on the board of the Iowa Pork Producers Association. They also regularly welcome visitors, media and foreign guests to their farm to help educate and showcase Iowa agriculture.

Kurt comes from a farming family. He farms with his father and a brother and nephew help out. His 98 year old grandma still lives on the family home place just up the road from Kurt and Heather’s farm. Daughter Presley and son, John are both into farming with their dad; daughter, Elizabeth on the other hand, might grow up to be the farm manager- preferring dresses to mud boots these days.

Congratulations to this deserving family that is doing things right and well deserving of the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award!

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2024 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.