Iowa Corn Growers Association
Iowans to be Recognized at Commodity Classic for 2014 National Corn Yield Contest Entries page banner

Iowans to be Recognized at Commodity Classic for 2014 National Corn Yield Contest Entries

February 26, 2015

Iowa farmers, who are members of the Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA), participated in the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) 2014 National Corn Yield Contest (NCYC). Twelve Iowans will be recognized at Commodity Classic which takes place this week in Phoenix, Arizona.

Growers will be applauded for using advanced production techniques, informed growing practices and improved seed varieties to achieve high yields. Entrants from across the United States continue to surpass the national average corn yield, setting a contest record and a new all-time high yield of 503 bushels per acre. Additionally, a record six national entries surpassed the 400-plus bushel per acre mark.

Top yield winners from Iowa included:

  • Dave Price Clarinda 308.84 bu/acre in the AA Non-Irrigated division.
  • TNT Farm Partnership Washington 284.19 bu/acre in the AA No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated division.
  • LCL Farms Inc. Keokuk 272.83 bu/acre in the No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated division.
  • Thomas Hotz Lone Tree 251.55 bu/acre in the Irrigated division.

NCGA President Chip Bowling, a farmer from Newburg, Maryland, said, “For five decades, NCGA’s National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre, helping feed and fuel the world. This has given participants not only the recognition they deserved, but the opportunity to learn from their peers.”

State winners will be recognized at the NCYC breakfast and national winners will receive awards at the NCGA Awards Banquet. Contest winners will also be featured in a special edition of Progressive Farmer magazine. Winners also receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies.

The National Corn Yield Contest is in its 50th year and remains NCGA’s most popular program for members “Many of our members first joined ICGA so that they could participate in the National Corn Yield Contest and test their skills as a farmer,” said Jerry Mohr a farmer from Eldridge and current ICGA President. “Today, as those participants work to achieve greatness in the field, they also support the largest grassroots corn association. We congratulate them on their success.

For a complete list of national and state winners, visit

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products.  The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 8,000 farmer members.  Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. For more information, visit

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.