Iowa Corn Growers Association
Iowa Corn Thanks Its Members and the Fans for Another Great Ethanol Powered Iowa Corn 300 page banner

Iowa Corn Thanks Its Members and the Fans for Another Great Ethanol Powered Iowa Corn 300

July 10, 2017

Yesterday’s 11th running of the Iowa Corn 300 will be remembered for many reasons. Helio Castroneves brought home his first win at the Iowa Corn 300. Also, this year’s race included many unique aspects showcasing Iowa Corn farmers and the corn-based ethanol that fuels IndyCars.

The corn start/finish line on the track of the Iowa Speedway was a highlight and made the connection to Iowa’s corn fields and ethanol powered racing on the track. Iowa Corn Promotion Board President Larry Klever kicked off the race by saying “Drivers, start your Iowa corn ethanol power engines” while Iowa Corn Growers Association President Kurt Hora waved the green flag. Klever and Hora presented Castroneves with the Iowa Corn 300 trophy in victory lane.

“Iowa Corn would like to congratulate Helio Castroneves on his first win here at the Iowa Corn 300,” said ICPB President Larry Klever, a farmer from Audubon. “This event continues to be an excellent platform for promoting and showcasing the true power and performance of ethanol. Over the past decade, INDYCAR drivers have logged millions of miles racing on E85. It’s a great way to remind consumers to fill up like the pros.”

Fans at the track enjoyed many family friendly activities including a sweetcorn feed and a fan walk. At the Iowa Corn VIP tent, Iowa Corn Growers Association members heard from IndyCar driver JR Hildebrand as well U.S. Senator Joni Ernst, U.S. Congressman Rod Blum, U.S. Congressman Dave Loebsack, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds, Iowa Lieutenant Governor Adam Gregg, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey, and Iowa Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig.

“2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the Iowa Corn Growers Association as one of the longest standing and highly respected ag organizations in the country representing 7,500 Iowa corn farmer-members,” said ICGA President Kurt Hora, a farmer from Washington. "We thank our Iowa Corn members and their families for helping us celebrate 50 years and another great Iowa Corn 300.”


The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a 7,500-member strong grassroots-driven organization, headquartered in Johnston, Iowa, serving members across the state, and lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its farmer members to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. For more information, visit

For More Information:

Shannon Textor, Director of Marketing and Communications, 515-225-9242,
Lisa Cassady, Public Relations Manager, 515-443-3947,

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.