Iowa Corn Growers Association
ICGA Recognizes Members Receiving the 2017 Iowa Farm Environmental Leaders Award page banner

ICGA Recognizes Members Receiving the 2017 Iowa Farm Environmental Leaders Award

August 27, 2017

Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) recognized 28 members and their families who received the 2017 Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award during the Annual Grassroots Summit Awards Luncheon on Saturday.

This award is a joint effort between Governor Reynolds, Lieutenant Governor Gregg, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and Iowa Department of Natural Resources. It was created to identify farmers who are committed to water quality and soil health. Each recipient has demonstrated excellent voluntary efforts to help keep Iowa’s water clean and our soils healthy. These individuals were also acknowledged during a ceremony held at the Iowa State Fair on August 19th.

ICGA membership selected are as follows:

  •        Paul and Linda Beckman, Des Moines

  •        Alan and LuAnn Bennett, Ida

  •        Russ and Liz Davis, Sac & Calhoun

  •        John Dingman, Lee

  •        Roger and Susie Edwards (Ro-Sie View Farm), Louisa

  •        Jim Goodhue and family, Warren

  •        Chad Ingels, Fayette

  •        Joe and Mary Jardon, Fremont & Montgomery

  •        Eric & Annette Jellum (Jellum Farm), Mitchell

  •        Bruce and Lisa Johnson, Mitchell

  •        Wayne and Lisa Koehler, Floyd

  •        Paul and Avriel Koester, Tama

  •        Mike and Rhonda Leonard, Harrison

  •        Steve and Ann Mallams (Mallams Inc), Henry

  •        Duane & Karen Martin (Duane Martin Family Inc), Fayette

  •        John and Joan Maxwell (Cinnamon Ridge Farms), Scott

  •        Mike and Jon McClure, Dallas

  •        Keith and Sharon Mensing, Adair

  •        Moffitt Stock Farms, Warren

  •        Jim and Mike Penick, Warren

  •        Mark & Cindy Prevo (Prevo Farms Inc), Davis

  •        Donald & Betty and Bruce & Deborah Richardson, Buena Vista

  •        Julius and Cynthia Schaaf, Fremont

  •        Mark and Melissa Schliesman (M&M Farms), Calhoun & Carroll & Sac

  •        Leon Sheets (Sheets Farms), Chickasaw

  •        Henry and Meri Kay Shepard, Black Hawk & Benton

  •        Kenneth Sieren, Washington & Keokuk

  •        Loran Steinlage, Fayette

This is just one of many examples of how ICGA is leading the way on Iowa’s water quality efforts. ICGA also offers its members a monthly Stewardship Advocate e-newsletter to help them stay up-to-date with news and events related to their farms. The program features monthly updates from Iowa Corn Sustainable Program Manager, Ben Gleason, and other experts on the topics of soil health, conservation and water quality. Go to, for more information.


The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB), works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a 7,500-member strong grassroots-driven organization, headquartered in Johnston, Iowa, serving members across the state, and lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its farmer members to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. For more information, visit


« Back

© 2024 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.