Iowa Corn Growers Association
ICGA Applauds Introduction of Next Generation Fuels Act page banner

ICGA Applauds Introduction of Next Generation Fuels Act

August 26, 2021

The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) applauds the introduction of H.R. 5089, the Next Generation Fuels Act, a bipartisan bill to reduce the carbon intensity of liquid fuels and passenger vehicles through increased use of higher ethanol blends. Recognizing the benefits of ethanol’s high-octane, low carbon properties in optimized vehicles, this legislation promises to increase demand for corn and biofuels, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, improve air quality and human health, and increase fuel efficiency, all while supporting agriculture’s contribution toward addressing climate change and decarbonizing transportation. 

Additionally, this bill provides automakers with more options to meet increasingly stringent fuel economy and greenhouse gas emission standards by utilizing ethanol blends up to 30% in vehicles designed and warranted for these fuels. The Next Generation Fuels Act is sponsored by Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-IL, along with five bipartisan co-sponsors: Rep. Cindy Axne, D-IA, Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, D-MO, Rep. James Comer, R-KY, Rep. Jason Smith, R-MO, and Rep. Darin LaHood, R-IL.

Below is a statement from Iowa Corn Growers Association President Carl Jardon:

“The Iowa Corn Growers Association fully supports the Next Generation Fuels Act, which will expand ethanol’s access to fuel tanks by setting an octane standard for vehicles and eliminating outdated legislative and regulatory barriers that have stood in the way of higher ethanol blends. Corn growers have been focused on this transition not only because ethanol is a top market for corn, but it’s also the climate solution that we need now. ICGA thanks Congresswoman Cindy Axne, Congresswoman Cheri Bustos, and the bipartisan group of original co-sponsors for championing this important legislation.  ICGA urges Congress to support and take immediate action on the Next Generation Fuels Act.”

For More Information:

Brandi Strautman, Public Relations Manager,, 515-225-9242  

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.