Iowa Corn Growers Association
ICGA Announces 30-Day Harvest Weight Proclamation Effective Immediately page banner

ICGA Announces 30-Day Harvest Weight Proclamation Effective Immediately

September 17, 2021

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds signed a proclamation today granting a temporary 30-day weight limit exemption for trucks operating on Iowa roads to support the haul of this year’s crop during harvest. The proclamation will be effective immediately. The 2021 Harvest Weight Proclamation specifically increases the weight allowable for shipment of corn, soybeans, hay, straw, and stover, by 12.5 percent per axle (up to a maximum of 90,000 pounds) without the need for an oversize/overweight permit.

The 2021 proclamation again applies to loads transported on all highways within Iowa, excluding the federal interstate system. Trucks cannot exceed the truck’s regular maximum by more than 12.5 percent per axle and must obey the posted limits on all roads and bridges.

“On behalf of Iowa’s farmers, we extend our gratitude to Governor Reynolds for approval of this proclamation as it is a tremendous help for farmers as we work to efficiently transport this year’s crop,” said Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) President Lance Lillibridge, a farmer from Vinton. “ICGA made the request to Governor Reynolds and worked with the Governor’s office to ensure the proclamation moved forward to benefit Iowa’s farmers in time for harvest. Governor Reynolds made the decision to grant the petition as requested by Iowa Corn, it is not a right by law.”

The proclamation directs the Iowa Department of Transportation to monitor the operation of the proclamation and assure the public’s safety by facilitating the movement of the trucks involved. Farmers who are transporting grain are also required to follow their vehicle safety standards on axle weights.

The exemption will be granted for 30 days beginning September 17, 2021, to October 17, 2021.

For More Information:

Brandi Strautman, Public Relations Manager,, 515-225-9242 

« Back

© 2023 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.