Iowa Corn Growers Association
Farmers Encouraged to Vote in Corn Checkoff Director Elections page banner

Farmers Encouraged to Vote in Corn Checkoff Director Elections

June 12, 2015

Elections for the Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) will be held on July 21, 2015. Iowa corn growers elect peers to serve on the ICPB to oversee the investment of funds generated by the Iowa corn checkoff.  The Board’s primary activities include domestic and foreign market development, research into new and value-added corn uses, and education about the corn industry. 

Corn farmers in Crop Reporting Districts 4 (West Central), 5 (Central), 8 (South Central) and 9 (Southeastern) can vote at their local county extension office for their representation on the ICPB for a 3-year term on July 21, 2015.

Anyone who has produced and marketed 250 bushels of corn or more in Iowa in the previous marketing year is eligible to vote in the election.  Producers unable to visit the extension office on July 21 may vote by absentee ballot.  Absentee ballots are available by request until June 29 by contacting the Iowa Corn office at 515-225-9242 or Absentee ballots must be postmarked no later than July 21. 

Candidates are as follows:

USDA Crop Reporting District #4 (Woodbury, Ida, Sac, Calhoun, Monona, Crawford, Carroll, Greene, Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, and Guthrie)

  • Larry Buss, Harrison County
  • Brent Drey, Sac County

USDA Crop Reporting District #5 (Webster, Hamilton, Hardin, Grundy, Boone, Story, Marshall, Tama, Dallas, Polk, Jasper, and Poweshiek)

  • Mark Kenney, Polk County
  • Roger Zylstra, Jasper County

USDA Crop Reporting District #8 (Madison, Warren, Marion, Union, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Ringgold, Wayne, and Appanoose)

  • Don Hunerdosse, Warren County
  • Corwin Fee, Marion County

USDA Crop Reporting District #9 (Mahaska, Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren and Lee)

  • Lance Bell, Washington County
  • Wayne Humphreys, Louisa County

# # #

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products.  For more information on the ICPB or director elections, please contact the ICPB office at 515-225-9242 or by mail at 5505 NW 88th Street, Johnston, IA 50131.

For More Information:

Shannon Textor
Director of Marketing and Communications
Iowa Corn Promotion Board

« Back

© 2023 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.