Iowa Corn Growers Association
23 Students Named to the Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team page banner

23 Students Named to the Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team

December 1, 2016

Iowa Corn proudly announces today the 23 Iowa college students who will make up the seventh Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team (CAT). Comprised of Iowa students pursuing degrees in agriculture, CAT will assist the Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) in developing targeted programs to enhance the organizations’ relationships with individuals pursuing careers in agriculture production and allied industries. CAT achieves this by fostering the knowledge and skills of these future leaders and providing them the tools to advocate for Iowa Corn and other commodity organizations’ role in the success of Iowa agriculture. 

“Iowa corn farmers’ future depends our ability to offer relevant programming, advocacy and services to new professionals entering Iowa’s agricultural sector, “said Iowa Corn Promotion Board Director Larry Buss, a farmer from Logan who chairs the committee overseeing the team. “We are excited to work with these 23 bright students on ways we can cultivate and promote our organization and the corn industry.”

The team includes one representative from each state college and university, and five students from Iowa State University. In addition, two additional positions on the team are for students in non-ag disciplines at any accredited Iowa college or university. The 2016/2017 participants:

Name                          Hometown                   College Attending
Michael Barr                Kellogg                         Iowa State University
Michaella Beckman     Mediapolis                    Southeastern Community College
Victoria Butt                 Iowa Falls                     Ellsworth Community College
John Dieter                  Sioux City                     Morningside College
Benjamin Dirks            Monticello                     Iowa State University
Erin Dolecheck            Kellerton                       Graceland University
Abby Galm                  Spencer                         Iowa Lake Community College
Madison Hoch             Algona                           Ellsworth Community College
Evann Farrens             Lenox                            Southwestern Community College
Anthony Furlin             Numa                            Indian Hills Community College
Austin Fariss               Batavia                          Muscatine Community College
Katey-Jayne Dennis    Mitchellville                   Des Moines Area Community College
Bryce Lidtka                Grinnell                         Dordt College
Tessa Meyer                Waterloo                      Hawkeye Community College
Luke Pelzer                  West Liberty                Muscatine Community College
Joe Roberts                 Belmond                       Iowa State University
Katie Schmith               Orange City                 Northwestern College
Sami Searle                  Joice                           North Iowa Area Community College
Kelsi Sieren                  Keota                           Iowa State University
Kayla Smith                  Marengo                      Iowa State University
Christopher Thurm       Readlyn                       Hawkeye Community College
Clayton Taylor              Lohrville                       Iowa Central Community College
Ellen Westhoff              Mount Vernon              Kirkwood Community College


The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB), works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is an 8,000-member strong grassroots-driven organization, headquartered in Johnston, Iowa, serving members across the state, and lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its farmer members to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. For more information, visit

« Back

© 2023 Iowa Corn Promotion Board/Iowa Corn Growers Association. All rights reserved.